Living Out My Theology

I loved my quiet time this morning in Oswald Chambers ‘My Utmost for His Highest’. It touched on how the light we receive from God can be turned into darkness if we don’t constantly use it in the way He would have us.

“If you do not obey the light, it will turn into darkness.”

He makes the point that the second you forsake the gifts God has bestowed upon you, is the very second your spiritual life begins to “disintegrate within you.” Lord, don’t let that be the case for me! This hit me hard this morning because it made me question how often I do that. What good things have I hidden from others because God was not my center focus that day. I pray that I would continually bring truth into my life and work it out in every area of my life. I think that sometimes we have compartmentalized Christ so much, that it ends up ruining our relationship with him because we don’t allow him into all that we do. And that only hurts us.

Chambers made me think hard about this next one: “the most difficult people to deal with is the one who has the prideful self-satisfaction of a past experience, but is not working that experience out in his everyday life.” WOW. I have talked so much about the amazing summer I had and how God completely turned me around, upside down, sideways haha you name it! I hope that I don’t allow that experience to die off this semester. I want to work everything I learned out and into my life. God allow me to do that today, don’t let any lesson go without a living example being set through me.

“If you say you are sanctified, show it.”

I may know all about the doctrine of sanctification but am I really working it out in the everyday issues of my life? Lord, teach me more. I am available.

Leave a Reply

