Whatsoever things…

Today in the great hall at PCBC Miller spoke on Philippians 4:8…..”Finally, brothers, whatever things are true, whatever things are honest, whatever things are just, whatever things are pure, whatever things are lovely, whatever things are of good report; if there be any virtue, and if there be any praise, think on these things.”

I love this verse! And I loved studying it today. This verse sums up what we as Christians should set our minds to and my prayer is that as I say this verse every Tuesday of the year almost in Pi Phi meeting that it will become the prayer of my heart so that my mind can be guided by holiness. We are supposed to think on, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure (Psalm 19:7-11), whatever is lovely, whatever is a good report. When I think of what I think about, at times it doesn’t fall in any of these categories. I think of worries I have, I think of the future, I think of what I look like to others, am I good enough, am I going to make it. So many questions and thoughts go through my mind that need to be censored and sorted through so they can fall into one of these categories. Verse 9 and on goes onto talk about how we should practice all of these things Paul has told us. What we have learned, received, heard and seen!

God, tonight as I am still of this world and in it, I find my mind distant from your will. I pray that you would consume my thoughts and direct my mind to all you would have for me. Give me a pure heart through pure thoughts. I love you. Amen.

Leave a Reply

