Rainy Morning

Good morning! Today I woke up at 7 and headed out the door for my morning jog/walk around 720! I’ve only done it for 2 days now but I have to say it sure does make my days better! And I hope you to continue it as a habit this summer! Everything is so beautiful in the mornings, even today when it was gloomy, I saw women in their robs grabbing their news papers, men headed off to work, walkers with their dogs, bikers. the day is fresh and you have the chance to make it what you want! That is what I find so refreshing in the mornings…a new chance, a fresh start. Because it really is! If you stop to think about every day you’re given..why not be a better you then you were the day before? Why not take this so very fragile life and realize you have ONE of them! Just one. One life to choose what you’ll do on this earth. As I read back on this post it sounds very ME centered what will I do in this life, what will I amount to. My quiet time this morning cancels all of that out by focusing on the “inner life” of a person. We all have it. We all make choices and choose which way to let our thoughts wander, and it’s very ME focused.

Oswald Chambers says it this way, “The continual inner-searching we do in an effort to see if we are what we ought to be generates a self-centered, sickly type of Christianity, not the vigorous and simple life of a child of God.”

How amazing is that quote. Because it is SO true. I am constantly thinking am I who I ought to be at this point in my life. Am I on the right track? Have I done enough? Am I measuring up in others eyes? All of these questions are so WRONG. If we are in the WILL OF GOD then we are exactly who we ought to be. If I’m asking more questions about Him and less about me then my heart and mind are in the place I want them to stay.

Oswald also say this, “We must get to the point of being sick to death of ourselves, until there is no longer any surprise at anything God might tell us about ourselves.”

To me this quote speaks volumes and to be honest with you, after choices I’ve made, friends I have hurt, I believe I am at a place of annoyance with my own self and am very continent in letting God show me areas in my life that I have failed. I’m so tired of living “The Emily Way” it REALLY is a path to destruction. That’s just how sinful my nature is. But through CHRIST I have been made PERFECT…perfect? Me? No-no I am far from perfect..but when you put me in the middle of God’s grace..there I am found perfect. And that is something to smile about.

Thank you, Lord.

Leave a Reply

